Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury Attorney
Contact Us For a Free Consultation call now
Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury Attorneys > Blog > Auto Accidents > Frequently Asked Questions About Florida Auto Liability Insurance

Frequently Asked Questions About Florida Auto Liability Insurance


Florida is one of the few no-fault auto liability states in the U.S., so it’s not uncommon for drivers to have a lot of questions about this system and how it works. We’ve included answers to a few of the most common auto liability-related questions below.

What is No-Fault Insurance?

 Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state, which means that drivers who are involved in accidents are required to first seek compensation for their losses from their own PIP insurers. This is true regardless of who was responsible for the crash. It is only when these losses exceed a driver’s policy limits or when an injury meets the state’s threshold for “serious” that a person can step outside this system and file a legal claim against the at-fault driver in court.

What are the Minimum Insurance Requirements in Florida? 

Florida law requires all drivers to carry at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, as well as $10,000 in Property damage Liability (PDL) coverage. The former covers 80 percent of a policyholder’s medical expenses and 60 percent of his or her lost wages, while PDL policies cover damage caused to someone else’s vehicle. Unfortunately, the losses from even minor accidents can quickly exceed the minimum policy limits, which can leave accident victims in a tough spot financially.

What are the Penalties for Driving Without Insurance? 

Driving without insurance coverage in Florida comes with significant penalties. A person who drives without the requisite coverage could, for instance, have his or her driver’s license and registration suspended for up to three years. To reinstate one’s license, a driver will have to pay a reinstatement fee of up to $500. Besides these penalties, drivers who lack insurance are also at risk of being unable to obtain reimbursement for their injuries and property damage if involved in an accident.

What are My Options if I’m Injured in an Accident with an Uninsured Driver? 

Because Florida is a no-fault state, an accident victim who is injured in a crash with an uninsured driver can still seek compensation from his or her own PIP insurance provider. If, however, this coverage is exceeded, then the injured party may need to look to other policies, including uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and health insurance. Individuals who find themselves in this situation may also have the option of filing a lawsuit against the at-fault party in court and attempting to hold him or her personally liable for damages.

Call Today for a Free Consultation 

Navigating insurance claims after a car accident can be complicated. For help seeking compensation after your own crash, whether from your own insurer, the other driver’s insurer, or via a court order, contact the experienced Florida car accident lawyers at Boone & Davis today. You can reach us at 954-566-9919 or by sending us an online message. Initial consultations are offered free of charge, so don’t hesitate to reach out to us by phone or online message today.




Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

© 2020 - 2024 Boone & Davis, Attorneys at Law. All rights reserved.
This law firm website and legal marketing are managed by MileMark Media.

Attorney Advertising. This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship.