Hit-and-Run Accidents with Uninsured Motorists
Florida law requires drivers to carry liability insurance of at least $10,000 for personal injury protection and another $10,000 for property damage. Unfortunately, despite this requirement, many drivers fail to purchase such a policy. This puts anyone else who is on the road at risk of sustaining an uncompensated injury in the event of an accident. These situations are worsened when the at-fault driver, who is uninsured, flees the scene of the accident to avoid being penalized. In recent years, Florida has attempted to reduce the number of hit and run accidents in the state by increasing penalties for leaving the scene of an accident. However, recent reports reveal that as many as one out of every four drivers still leaves the scene of a crash and that last year alone, more than 100,000 hit and run collisions occurred across the state. Recovering damages for hit and run accidents can be difficult, but it is not impossible, especially for those who obtain legal representation, so if you were injured in a hit and run accident, you should strongly consider consulting with an experienced car accident lawyer who can assist you.
Filing a Claim
According to the Insurance Research Council, the percentage of drivers who leave the scene of an accident corresponds with the number of Florida drivers on the road who do not have insurance coverage. Fortunately, drivers who have uninsured motorist coverage through their own insurer are often able to collect compensation for their accident-related losses even if they cannot identify the at-fault driver.
Those who are able to identify an uninsured hit and run driver through eyewitness reports or video recordings can take the at-fault party to court to recover compensation for medical bills, lost wages, vehicle repair, pain and suffering, and any other losses that the injured party may have suffered.
What to do if You Have Been in a Hit and Run Accident
Although it may be tempting to try and follow a driver who is leaving the scene of the accident, this is usually not a good idea. Instead, hit and run victims should attempt to write down the make, model, and license plate number of the at-fault driver. Drivers are also encouraged to take note of any possible witnesses to the accident, write down the time and location of the collision, and take pictures of the scene and the damage done to the vehicle. Those who were not present for their hit and run should also attempt to write down as much information as they can, including the date, time, and amount of damage done to the vehicle. Once this information has been recorded, the hit and run victim should file a report with local law enforcement who can then attempt to identify the at-fault driver.
Call Today for Help with Your Car Accident Claim
To speak with an experienced Fort Lauderdale car accident attorney about your own hit and run claim, please call Boone & Davis at 954-566-9919 or send us an online message. We are prepared to help you immediately.