Answers to Common PIP Questions
We get a lot of questions about no-fault coverage in Florida. This is understandable, as Florida’s laws on filing claims after a car accident can become quite complicated. To help give you a better understanding of Florida’s claim filing process, we’ve included answers to some of the most common PIP-related questions we receive.
What is PIP Insurance?
Florida is one of only a handful of states that still requires drivers to purchase no-fault auto insurance. This means that in Florida, as in other no-fault states, drivers who are involved in accidents must first file claims with their own insurers, even if someone else was at fault for the crash. In Florida, no-fault insurance is referred to as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage and all drivers must carry these policies with coverage of at least $10,000. These policies pay for an accident victim’s medical bills after a car crash, regardless of who caused it. Typically, PIP policies pay for covered individuals, which include the driver, passenger, and in some cases, the owner’s family members. It can also be used to pay for the medical bills of cyclists and pedestrians who are struck by a policyholder.
What Medical Bills Does PIP Cover?
PIP insurance policies cover up to 80 percent of an accident victim’s medical bills. There are, however, limitations to this coverage in Florida. For instance, to qualify for PIP medical benefits, a policyholder must receive medical treatment within two weeks of the accident. Those who fail to abide by this rule will likely end up without any coverage of their medical bills. Medical benefits are also limited to $2,500 unless an injured party can prove that he or she suffered an emergency medical condition.
What is an Emergency Medical Condition?
Under Florida’s no-fault auto liability law, accident victims can recover more than the $2,500 limit in PIP benefits when they suffer an emergency medical condition. This includes conditions that manifest by acute symptoms, like severe pain, that are so severe that failing to obtain immediate medical attention would likely result in:
- Serious jeopardy to the victim’s health;
- Serious impairment to the injured party’s bodily functions; or
- Serious dysfunction of any body part or organ.
Accident victims who can prove that their injuries satisfy this standard will be able to receive coverage of their medical bills up to the limits of their policy. To receive coverage, however, a claimant will need to provide copies of the tests and procedures performed by the doctor who diagnosed the condition.
Does PIP Coverage Pay for Lost Wages?
Besides covering up to 80 percent of a policyholder’s accident-related medical bills, PIP also pays up to 60 percent of a victim’s lost income. It’s important to note, however, that lost wages and medical bills are added together, which means that if a person’s medical expenses exceed the $10,000 limit, then he or she probably won’t also receive reimbursement for lost wages. Of course, to recover compensation for lost wages, the injured party will need to provide proof of income and the days of missed work.
Call or Contact Us Online to Schedule a Free Case Review
For more information on filing a PIP claim after a Florida car accident, please contact the dedicated Fort Lauderdale auto accident attorneys at Boone & Davis today. You can reach us by calling 954-566-9919 or by sending an online message.