1 in 4 Floridians Drive Without Auto Insurance
The overwhelming majority of states require drivers to buy auto insurance before they get behind the wheel.
Indeed, in 49 states and the District of Columbia it is illegal to drive without car insurance. Despite this, 12 percent of U.S. drivers are uninsured. Florida has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers on American roadways — nearly 1 in 4 Floridians drive without auto insurance, according to statistics from the Insurance Research Council.
Florida’s rate is second-worst in the nation, with only Oklahoma trailing behind the Sunshine State. Some 3 million people drive without auto insurance in Florida alone, according to the Insurance Research Council. That figure translates to 23.8 percent of Floridians.
This can spell disaster for those involved in roadway collisions with uninsured drivers and for the uninsured drivers themselves. Uninsured motorist claims totaled $2.6 billion in 2012, which is the latest data available, according to the Insurance Research Council. The $2.6 billion constitutes a 75 percent increase in such claims over the past decade in the United States.
Those paying the price most often end up being the insured drivers. The additional costs are fronted by insurance companies, but this trickles down to the insured driver in the form of higher premiums down the line. In 2012, the claims generated in auto accidents involving uninsured drivers constituted a $14 increase in insurance costs per insured driver in the United States, according to the Insurance Research Council’s calculations.
What’s the law in Florida?
Florida, like the majority of other states in the country, requires drivers to be insured. The law (627.727) states that all drivers must have minimum coverage for auto liability. These minimums include:
- Personal injury protection of $10,000 per person per crash;
- Property damage liability of $10,000 per crash; and
- Bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per crash.
Personal injury protection is “no-fault insurance” which means it will cover your injuries no matter who was at fault in the incident as long as you seek medical care within 14 days of the auto accident. It covers up to $5,000 in death benefits; 100 percent of replacement services, including childcare and housekeeping, etc.; 80 percent of medical expenses; and 60 percent of lost wages or income.
Property damage liability covers any damage done to other vehicle(s) involved in the incident.
Bodily injury liability helps cover serious or permanent injuries and/or death of others caused by the incident in which you’re involved.
Hit by an uninsured motorist or need help dealing with your insurance company?
If you’ve been involved in an auto accident with an uninsured driver and/or are having trouble dealing with your insurance company, contact the lawyers at Boone & Davis in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, today. The claims process can be a long and difficult one — put yourself in the best position possible by hiring the experienced attorneys at Boone & Davis. We have years of experience working with insurance companies to help you get the compensation you deserve.